Taxes
  • Former U.S. Secretary of State Clinton appears on stage at the Women in the World Summit

    Hillary Clinton: Warren’s Medicare for All Plan Won’t Ever Get Enacted

    Hillary Clinton said Wednesday that she doesn’t believe Elizabeth Warren’s Medicare-for-All plan would ever become law and that there are better ways to raise revenues than Warren’s proposed wealth...

  • Number of the Day: $13 Billion

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    That’s how much Microsoft founder Bill Gates would pay in federal taxes this year under Elizabeth Warren’s proposed wealth taxes, according to back-of-envelope calculations by CNBC’s Robert Frank (...

  • Sen. Van Hollen announces a bipartisan agreement on Turkey sanctions during a news conference in Washington

    Democrats Propose New Tax on Millionaires

    By Michael Rainey

    Two Democratic lawmakers unveiled a plan Thursday that would raise taxes on high-income households. Sen. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland and Rep. Don Beyer of Virginia are proposing a 10-percentage...

  • FILE PHOTO - Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin introduces US Vice President Mike Pence to speak about the American Health Care Act during a visit to the Harshaw-Trane Parts and Distribution Center in Louisville

    Medicaid Work Requirements Dealt a Loss in Elections

    By Michael Rainey

    The effort to impose work requirements on Medicaid beneficiaries experienced a setback Tuesday with the apparent defeat of Kentucky Gov. Matt Bevin. Bevin, a Republican, hasn’t conceded defeat in his...

  • Wealthy Could See a Huge Tax Windfall if Obamacare Is Overturned

    By Michael Rainey

    The lawsuit by 18 state attorneys general seeking to invalidate the Affordable Care Act would provide an enormous tax cut for wealthy households if it succeeds, according to an analysis by the Center...

  • U.S. Treasury Secretary Mnuchin discusses the Trump administration's budget plan during the Peterson Foundation's 2017 Fiscal Summit  in Washington

    Mnuchin Talks More Tax Cuts

    By Michael Rainey

    Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin said Monday that a White House push for another round of tax cuts is a possibility in 2020. “And regards to a middle-class tax cut, you know, we’ll be looking at tax...

  • Mark Sanford speaks at the LPAC conference in Chantilly, Virginia

    Trump Gets a Fiscally Focused Challenger

    By Michael Rainey

    Mark Sanford announced Sunday that he is running for president, becoming the third Republican to challenge President Trump for the nomination in 2020. The former South Carolina congressman said he...

  • Op-Ed of the Day: Fighting the Next Recession Now

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    Jason Furman, the former chairman of the White House Council of Economic Advisers under President Obama, has some advice for Congress: Start preparing for the next recession now. In a Wall Street...

  • U.S. President Trump presents Presidential Medal of Freedom to NBA Hall of Famer West at the White House in Washington

    Does Trump Have an Agenda for 2020 Besides Winning Re-election?

    In a tweet earlier this week, President Trump urged the Democratic-controlled House to move past what he calls “witch hunt” investigations and “get back to work on drug prices, healthcare,...

  • A Permanent Payroll Tax Cut?

    With the Trump administration reportedly considering a temporary payroll tax cut to boost the economy and ward off a potential recession, Marc Goldwein of the Committee for a Responsible Federal...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Monday, July 30, 2018 - 9:30pm
Friday, July 27, 2018 - 8:45pm
Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 10:00pm
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 9:16pm
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 9:01pm
Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 9:14pm
Monday, July 23, 2018 - 9:28pm
Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 6:33pm
Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 9:15pm
Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 9:15pm
Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 5:45pm
Tuesday, July 17, 2018 - 8:29pm
Monday, July 16, 2018 - 8:31pm
Friday, July 13, 2018 - 8:13pm
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 9:07pm
Wednesday, July 11, 2018 - 9:26pm
Tuesday, July 10, 2018 - 8:46pm
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 7:00pm
Monday, July 2, 2018 - 6:13pm
Friday, June 29, 2018 - 8:46pm
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 9:14pm
Wednesday, June 27, 2018 - 8:43pm
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 10:04pm
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 9:55pm
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 9:40pm
Thursday, June 21, 2018 - 9:57pm
Friday, June 15, 2018 - 9:01pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 9:44pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 9:22pm
Tuesday, June 12, 2018 - 9:46pm

Pages