Taxes
  • Former U.S. Secretary of State Clinton appears on stage at the Women in the World Summit

    Hillary Clinton: Warren’s Medicare for All Plan Won’t Ever Get Enacted

    Hillary Clinton said Wednesday that she doesn’t believe Elizabeth Warren’s Medicare-for-All plan would ever become law and that there are better ways to raise revenues than Warren’s proposed wealth...

  • Number of the Day: $13 Billion

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    That’s how much Microsoft founder Bill Gates would pay in federal taxes this year under Elizabeth Warren’s proposed wealth taxes, according to back-of-envelope calculations by CNBC’s Robert Frank (...

  • Sen. Van Hollen announces a bipartisan agreement on Turkey sanctions during a news conference in Washington

    Democrats Propose New Tax on Millionaires

    By Michael Rainey

    Two Democratic lawmakers unveiled a plan Thursday that would raise taxes on high-income households. Sen. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland and Rep. Don Beyer of Virginia are proposing a 10-percentage...

  • FILE PHOTO - Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin introduces US Vice President Mike Pence to speak about the American Health Care Act during a visit to the Harshaw-Trane Parts and Distribution Center in Louisville

    Medicaid Work Requirements Dealt a Loss in Elections

    By Michael Rainey

    The effort to impose work requirements on Medicaid beneficiaries experienced a setback Tuesday with the apparent defeat of Kentucky Gov. Matt Bevin. Bevin, a Republican, hasn’t conceded defeat in his...

  • Wealthy Could See a Huge Tax Windfall if Obamacare Is Overturned

    By Michael Rainey

    The lawsuit by 18 state attorneys general seeking to invalidate the Affordable Care Act would provide an enormous tax cut for wealthy households if it succeeds, according to an analysis by the Center...

  • U.S. President Trump speaks at a House Republican retreat in Baltimore, Maryland, U.S.

    Trump Touts ‘Inspirational’ Middle Class Tax Cut

    By Michael Rainey

    President Trump said Thursday that he is working on a new tax cut for middle-class households, to be unveiled “sometime in the next year.” Speaking to lawmakers at a GOP retreat in Baltimore, Trump...

  • District of Columbia

    Are Tax Cuts or Spending Hikes Driving the Deficit?

    By Michael Rainey

    Republican tax cut enthusiasts are generally unwilling to link the 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act to the rapidly growing federal deficit, preferring instead to point the finger at spending increases that...

  • Trump Still Mulling Capital-Gains Tax Cut: Report

    President Trump is apparently still considering a plan to cut capital-gains taxes. The Wall Street Journal’s Andrew Restuccia and Kate Davidson report that Trump was set to discuss with his economic...

  • The $15 Trillion Phantom

    By Michael Rainey

    A staggering amount of foreign direct investment is really just “phantom” capital passing through corporate shells, typically to avoid taxes, according to a new study published by economists at the...

  • New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio delivers remarks at his 2018 Inaugural Ceremony at City Hall in Manhattan, New York

    Bill de Blasio Calls for a Robot Tax

    In a piece for Wired , the peripatetic New York mayor and Democratic presidential candidate warns that “automation in our economy is increasing far faster than most people realize, and its impact on...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 9:31pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 4:15am
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 9:37pm
Tuesday, September 18, 2018 - 9:55pm
Monday, September 17, 2018 - 10:15pm
Monday, September 17, 2018 - 10:06pm
Friday, September 14, 2018 - 9:56pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 9:31pm
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 9:45pm
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 8:45pm
Monday, September 10, 2018 - 4:22pm
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 8:45pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 9:04pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 8:55pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 8:51pm
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 - 4:27pm
Saturday, September 1, 2018 - 1:03am
Wednesday, August 29, 2018 - 9:00pm
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 - 6:53pm
Thursday, August 23, 2018 - 9:36pm
Tuesday, August 21, 2018 - 3:37pm
Friday, August 17, 2018 - 8:58pm
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 9:24pm
Monday, August 13, 2018 - 9:21pm
Monday, August 13, 2018 - 9:17pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 9:40pm
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 9:23pm
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 8:41pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 9:37pm
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 9:08pm
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 8:26pm

Pages